Daily Prompts

You there?

Daily Prompt:  Silence

pooh
                                                                                            A.A. Milne, Winnie the Pooh

Today’s prompt took me in many different directions.  I could talk about how important silence and quiet are for introverts.  I could talk about the inefficiencies of work conference calls when participants go on at length instead of just getting to the point and stopping.  I could talk about the beautiful silence of meditation or prayer.  But of all things, this popped into my head!  As it often does.  An old greeting card with an exchange between Pooh and Piglet.

Piglet sidled up to Pooh from behind.  “Pooh!” he whispered.  “Yes, Piglet?”  “Nothing,” said Piglet, taking Pooh’s paw.  “I just wanted to be sure of you.”

This card makes me think of one person in particular who has always been there for me through thick and thin.  It’s a sweet reminder of the comfort of friends and loved ones. The ability to sit with someone you love, in silence, contently, with just an occasional nudge for reassurance.

5 thoughts on “You there?

Leave a Reply

